Taratahi is a public entity and our Board is appointed by the Minister for Primary Industries.

  • Our Board of Trustees is represented by Wairarapa branch of Federated Farmers, Wairarapa Agricultural and Pastoral Society, Masterton Agricultural and Pastoral Society, Minister for Primary Industries, Director General of Ministry for Primary Industries, Primary ITO and Minister of Tertiary Education.
  • Our system of governance (which includes Ministerial oversight and an Act of Parliament) gives us a national responsibility to ensure that all New Zealanders have the chance to contribute to our most important industry.
  • Taratahi is a unique training establishment widely recognised not only for its historical contribution to New Zealand’s agricultural sector but also for its commitment to providing innovative training in a constantly evolving industry.  
  • Taratahi provides a supportive training environment always recognising that our students are a diverse group of individuals.  Our students are male and female, from both urban and rural backgrounds.  They are of diverse ethnicity and come from all corners of New Zealand and sometimes from overseas.
  • Taratahi is registered with the New Zealand Qualifications Authority.  We are accredited to offer selected units of learning from the national qualifications framework in agriculture and many land-based skills.
  • There is a strong demand for Taratahi graduates from all over New Zealand.

Taratahi Board of Trustees:

  • Board Member

    Appointed by

    Mike McCredie

    Primary ITO

    Jamie Falloon

    Wairarapa Branch of Federated Farmers

    Jan Tatham

    Agricultural & Pastoral Society

    Debbie Ward

    Director General for Ministry for Primary Industries

    Mavis Mullins (Chairperson)

    Minister of Tertiary Education

    Andrew Gibbs

    Minister for Primary Industries

    Paul McGill

    Agricultural & Pastoral Society

The Latest

FMG Taratahi Scholarship

FMG Taratahi Scholarship

Monday, 12 February 2018

Taratahi and FMG are proud to announce the re-established FMG Taratahi Scholarship for both Year 1 and Year 2 students.  The Scholarship is now open for applications with the closing date being Wednesday 28th February.

Fees Free Study in 2018

Fees Free Study in 2018

Thursday, 14 December 2017

Get free fees for your first year of study at Taratahi New government policy means that students starting tertiary education for the first time in 2018 will get one year of full-time study fees-free. You may also wish to check the Fees-free 2018 Student Guide or www.feesfree.govt.nz.

Coming Up: